When charged with a second DUI in Maryland, a driver might have many questions regarding possible repercussions and legal consequences associated with a repeated offense. A DUI, or driving under the influence, is a charge given to a person arrested for having a blood alcohol concentration level of 0.08%, and DWI, or driving with impairment, for BAC level of 0.07%. Now, before panicking, call an expert DUI lawyer to help guide you through the process. DUI Laws in Maryland has been strictly implemented all throughout the state. Although it is considered a misdemeanor, DUI penalties can be harsh and could lead to possible jail time especially with a Second-Time DUI arrest.
Does a Second-time DUI mean Jail time?
As per the Maryland DUI law, a second-time DUI could mean imprisonment of not more than 2 years. However, a competent DUI lawyer could play a big role in the driver’s defense as he can possibly make a plea bargain to lower down the possible jail time to 5 days or a “wet reckless” charge, which a driver can mostly benefit from. Although chances are slim and are still subject to the district judge’s approval, this is something that anyone being charged with a second-time DUI could hope to have.
Other possible penalties for second-time DUI.
For a second-time DUI charge, other than the possibility of serving jail time of not more than 2 years, you can also be asked to submit to an Ignition Interlock Program. This is when a person’s car is installed with an Ignition Interlock Device (IID), where the driver blows into the device and it automatically measures his blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level. The result must not reach the BAC limit set on the device or else the ignition will not turn on.
Enrollment in an Alcohol Education Program (AED) is also a likely consequence for a second-time DUI offense. Furthermore, the length of the program will depend on the degree of the offense made and the district judge’s decision.