Per Maryland Code 21-902, a driver will automatically face a DUI charge if his or her blood alcohol content registers at 0.08 or above, although a BAC as low as 0.05 could possibly warrant a Driving While Impaired (DWI) charge at the discretion of the arresting officer. However, just because your alleged BAC level landed you with a DUI charge, that does not mean you will automatically be convicted of a DUI.
A first offense DUI in Maryland carries a penalty of up to one year in jail, $1000 in fines. If at the time a minor was in the vehicle, a first time DUI could result in a doubled penalty of two years in jail and $2000 in fines. In addition, a driver convicted of a first-time DUI faces losing his or her driving privileges for 180 to 270 days, per the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration. A first offense DUI in Maryland also requires the installation of an ignition interlock device on the impaired driver’s car. An ignition interlock is a device that prevents a vehicle from starting when it detects a certain level of alcohol on the driver’s breath and requires the driver to retest at random points while they are driving. The ignition interlock device is installed at the expense of the driver charged with the DUI. The DUI driver must also pay a monthly monitoring fee.
Because the penalties for even a DUI Maryland First Offense are serious, it is important to work with a Baltimore DUI attorney can put forth a strong defense for you. Your DUI lawyer can also examine the evidence against you and the circumstances surrounding your arrest in order to determine whether police followed proper procedures and conducted field sobriety and BAC testing correctly.
Penalties for a DUI First Offense
A first DUI offense can carry harsh penalties and create a criminal record. This can unfortunately negatively impact a person’s career and educational opportunities, financial aid, security clearances or military standing.
Reach out to us today to explore your options for your DUI charge. We are here to help!