There are several intoxicating substances that impairs an individual from driving, and getting charged with DUI/DWI is punishable by Maryland DUI laws. These laws are strictly implemented, as a number of road deaths in Maryland are mostly because of delinquent drunk drivers. So, it is crucial that one must know the Maryland DUI laws altogether to keep you at bay. Here are the Maryland DUI statutes in a nutshell.

Maryland DUI laws: BAC Limits

Maryland categorized drinking and driving into two. One is driving under the influence¬† (DUI) with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or above. This is what Maryland calls driving under the influence of alcohol “per se,” or there is a presumption of intoxication. While the other one, driving while impaired (DWI) by alcohol, is considered less severe, with a lower BAC limit of 0.07%.

For underage drinking and driving, Maryland implements a “zero tolerance” policy. This means the maximum BAC limit for a driver under the age of 21 is 0.02%.

Maryland DUI laws: Select Penalties

Driving under the Influence (DUI) of Alcohol or Alcohol Per Se

  1. First offense, imprisonment not more than 1 year or a fine not more than $1,000; or could be both.
  2. Second offense, imprisonment not more than 2 years or a fine not more than $2,000; or could be both.
  3. Third or subsequent offense, imprisonment not more than 3 years or a fine not more than $3,000; or could be both.

 

Driving under the Influence (DUI) with a minor

  1. First offense, imprisonment not more than 2 years or a fine not more than $2,000; or could be both.
  2. Second offense, imprisonment not more than 3 years or a fine not more than $3,000; or could be both.
  3. Third or subsequent offense, imprisonment not more than 4 years or a fine not more than $4,000; or could be both.

 

Driving while impaired (DWI) by alcohol/drugs or drugs and alcohol

  1. First offense, imprisonment not more than 2 months or a fine not more than $500; or could be both.
  2. Second offense, imprisonment not more than 1 year or a fine not more than $500; or could be both.
  3. Third or subsequent offense, imprisonment not more than 3 years or a fine not more than $3,000; or could be both.

 

Driving while impaired (DWI) by alcohol/drugs or drugs and alcohol with a minor

  1. First offense, imprisonment not more than 6 months or a fine not more than $1,000; or could be both.
  2. Second offense, imprisonment not more than 1 year or a fine not more than $2,000; or could be both.
  3. Third or subsequent offense, imprisonment not more than 4 years or a fine not more than $4,000; or could be both.

 

Maryland DUI laws: Test Refusal

If a person deliberately refused to take the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test, and was convicted of the same violation, the person is subject to an additional penalty of imprisonment of not more than 2 months or fine not more than $500 or could be both.